We use cookies

This website uses cookies in order to function. By continuing to use the site, you accept that we will place cookies on your computer. Please see our cookie policy for more information.

Don't show me this message again.
 
 

Great Christmas Gift Ideas

Great Christmas Gift Ideas

Merry Christmas from St David’s Hall!

It’s the most wonderful of time of the year and we’ve got some great Christmas gift ideas for all the family at St David’s Hall!

Christmas Ballets
Snow Maiden, The Nutcracker,
Swan Lake & Cinderella
Wednesday 19 – Monday 31 December 2018 – 2pm, 5.30pm & 7pm 

And what better way is there to get in the festive spirit than with our Russian ballet series? Snow Maiden, The Nutcracker, Swan Lake & Cinderella (Weds 19 - Mon 31 Dec) provide the perfect pre-Christmas family outing or present. Likewise, if you’re looking to treat your loved ones in the New Year, look no further than Sing-a-Long-a The Greatest Showman (Sat 2 Feb).

John Grant
Monday 11 February 2019, 7pm Doors 

If Dad likes his guitar music he’ll be spoilt for choice with Thunder (Fri 1 Feb), Marillion (Sat 16 Nov), The Classic Rock Show (Weds 23 Jan) and Vampires Rock (Weds 13 Feb). There’s also ex-Squeeze star Paul Carrack (Sun 10 March) and his old band Mike & The Mechanics (Thurs 21 Mar), 10cc (Fri 8 Mar) and Steve Hackett (Sat 9 Nov). If he prefers his music a little more arty, there’s indie rock singer-songwriter John Grant (Mon 11 Feb) and Icelandic instrumentalist Ólafur Arnalds (Tues 19 Mar). Yet, if he’s in the mood for some classic pop, you can’t go wrong with Welsh national treasure Shakin’ Stevens (Sun 3 Mar) on his Greatest Hits tour.

All You Need is Love
feat. the National Philharmonic Concert Orchestra
Saturday 20 April 2019, 7.30pm 

There’s terrific tributes to huge household names as well. They don’t get much bigger than the King of Pop and the King of Rock & Roll with The Magic of Michael Jackson (Sat 12 Jan) and Classic Elvis (Sat 19 Jan) accompanied by Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra. Equally iconic is the Man in Black in the Johnny Cash Roadshow (Sat 26 Jan), whilst ELO Again (Fri 8 Feb) relives Jeff Lynne’s top tunes. Also, there’s perfect prog-rock from Brit Floyd (Sat 9 Mar), rocking riffs and soaring solos in Stairway to Heaven: Led Zeppelin Masters (Weds 3 Apr) and All You Need is Love (Sat 20 Apr) featuring The Beatles’ best loved songs backed by the National Philharmonic Concert Orchestra.

80s Symphonic Live
Thursday 2 May 2019, 8pm 

Mum can have a trip down memory lane too with synth-pop pioneer Howard Jones (Sun 26 May), whilst 80s Symphonic Live (Thurs 2 May) and Ministry of Sound - The Annual Classical (Fri 31 May) both feature classic tracks reinterpreted by amazing London orchestras. If that’s not enough nostalgia, there’s the Velvet Voice of Luther (Fri 25 Jan), Rumours of Fleetwood Mac (Mon 6 May) and Soul Legends(Thurs 23 May). Plus, there’s a double 80s treat with solo and Wham! hits in George (Weds 24 Apr) and Simply the Best tribute to Tiny Turner in What’s Love Got to Do with It? (Fri 13 Sept). Mum may also love tickets to Alfie Boe (Sun 17 - Mon 18 Mar), Katherine Jenkins (Tues 7 May), Aled Jones & Russell Watson (Thurs 26 Sept), The Hairy Bikers (Thurs 7 Mar) or ‘The History Guy’, Dan Snow (Tues 26 Mar). And if she’s looking to detox after all the eggnog and Christmas pud, Dr Michael Mosley (Weds 27 Feb) will help her get back on track in Trust Fast Health.

Art Garfunkel: An Evening of Song & Stories
Friday 12 April 2019, 7.45pm 

For Nan and Grandad, there’s folk-rock icons Joan Baez (Sat 23 Feb) and Art Garfunkel (Fri 12 Apr), Welsh composer Sir Karl Jenkins (Sun 10 Feb), Back to Bacharach (Sun 20 Jan), The Sensational 60s Experience (Thurs 14 Mar) and That’ll Be the Day (Thurs 18 Apr). Strictly fans will Anton & Erin (Sun 17 Feb) and Remembering the Movies (Sat 4 May) starring Aljaž and Janette.

Ant Middleton: Mind Over Muscle
Wednesday 10 April 2019, 7pm Doors 

If musical theatre is more your thing, there’s Beyond the Barricade (Sat 5 Jan) and Les Musicals (Mon 7 Oct), whilst avid adventurists of all ages will be truly enthralled by the Banff Mountain Film Festival (Tues 12 Feb & Thurs 28 Mar)  and Ant Middleton (Weds 10 Apr).

Ward Thomas: Restless Minds
Monday 4 March 2019, 7pm Doors

There’s plenty to keep the kids entertained too. Teenagers can revel in the weird and wonderful world of The Circus of Horrors (Fri 11 Jan), and experience live gigs from chart-topping acts Ward Thomas (Mon 4 Mar) and Collabro (Fri 5 Apr). That’s not forgetting the little ones either who will enjoy Zog (Fri 26 - Sun 28 Apr) and Wallace & Gromit’s Musical Marvels (Sat 1 June).

As usual there’s tons of cracking comedy including Rod Woodward (Sat 2 Mar), Julian Clary (Weds 27 Mar), Henning Wehn (Sat 6 Apr), Jasper Carrott (Weds 8 May), Al Murray (Mon 3 June) and Stewart Francis (Fri 7 June).

Whatever you choose, St David’s Hall has got Christmas wrapped up for the whole family!

To book your seats, please visit www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk
or call the Box Office on 029 2087 8444

 

Ministry of Sound – The Annual Classical
Friday 31 May 2019, 7.30pm 

Wallace & Gromit’s Musical Marvels
Saturday 1 June 2019, 1.30pm & 6pm
 

Join our mailing list