We use cookies

This website uses cookies in order to function. By continuing to use the site, you accept that we will place cookies on your computer. Please see our cookie policy for more information.

Don't show me this message again.

Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra

Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra
Mark Eager - Conductor

Shostakovich - Festive Overture
Prokofiev - Lieutenant Kijé Suite
Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 2

Prokofiev and Shostakovich, estranged from their homeland for many years, were eventually invited to return.  Shostakovich composed the lively Festive Overture to commemorate the Revolution’s 37th anniversary.  Prokofiev’s film score to Lieutenant Kijé allowed him to compose without incurring the authorities’ wrath. Good-humoured and uplifting, Tchaikovsky’s 2nd Symphony, nicknamed Little Russian, was inspired by folksongs heard during visits to his sister’s home in the Ukraine.

Standard Price £8
Friends of St David's Hall | Claimants | Students | Under 18s |
Over 60s | Disabled people plus one companion
£3 off
Special Offer 2 for £10

Plus an optional £1 postage fee.
*Only one discount may apply to each ticket and proof of entitlement is required upon ticket collection. 

Book now