We use cookies

This website uses cookies in order to function. By continuing to use the site, you accept that we will place cookies on your computer. Please see our cookie policy for more information.

Don't show me this message again.

From Russia...With Love


 Khachaturian    Adagio from Spartacus 
 Rachmaninov  Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor 
 Stravinsky   Petrushka 

Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra
Michael Bell – Conductor
Martin James Bartlett - Piano

The centre-piece of this concert is the most beloved of all concertos, Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2, a work that is equally associated with Russian romance as it is with steam trains and the classic British film Brief Encounter.

Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra is thrilled to welcome the 2014 BBC Young Musician of the Year, Martin James Bartlett as soloist. Violinist Nicola Benedetti has spoken of Martin as ‘a natural and powerful musician, he lives and breathes music.’

Stravinsky’s ballet Petrushka is set at a Russian shrovetide fair, and it’s his most colourful work. All is well until three puppets are brought to life…

The concert opens with more ballet music, the sumptuous Adagio from Khachaturian’s Spartacus. If Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 conjures images of steam trains then the Adagio from Spartacus owes its immense popularity to the great sailing ships of TV’s The Onedin Line.

This compelling performance forms part of the city-wide R17 Festival, which marks the centenary of
the Russian Revolution and captures the social and cultural explosion of the era.

Standard Price £6.50   Stalls (C-E sides), Tier 3 (rear), 7 (rear), 9 & 13
£9.50 Stalls (C-E centre) Tiers 10, 12, 3 (front) and 7 (front)
£11.50 Tiers 2, 8, 11
£17.50 Stalls
£23.50 Tier 1
Children under 16 £6.50 any area  
16 - 25 year olds £8.50  
Friends of St David's Hall | Students | Over 60s | Claimants £2 off top two prices  
Wheelchair user plus one companion £6.50 each ticket (available on single tickets only, not on Series Offer)  
Groups of 10 or more £1 off each ticket  

Plus an optional £1 postage charge for tickets to be posted. 

Series Offer 
Book for all four concerts and save 25%.

Book now
18.00 Bars open
19.30 START
20.20 Interval
21.25  FINISH                                                                       

PLEASE NOTE: Running times are approximate and supplied for guidance only.  They may be subject to change.