We use cookies

This website uses cookies in order to function. By continuing to use the site, you accept that we will place cookies on your computer. Please see our cookie policy for more information.

Don't show me this message again.

Beethoven 9

Xian Zhang - Conductor
Clara Mouriz - Mezzo
Allan Clayton - Tenor
Matthew Rose - Bass
BBC National Chorus of Wales

 Huw Watkins   New Work (BBC Radio 3 Commission)   15' 
 Beethoven  Symphony No. 9  67'

Beethoven’s symphonic cycle ends with nothing less than a mighty rallying call to all humanity. Its daring and at times outlandish writing has sparked debate ever since its premiere in 1824. Despite that, who can fail to be swept up by his Ode to Joy and vision of arcadia?

Finding the right partner piece for the ninth is always a challenge. Huw Watkins, described as ‘one of the most rounded composer-musicians in the UK’ (Financial Times) and BBC NOW’s composer-in-residence, steps boldly into the breach.

Standard Price £15.00 | £22.00 | £28.50 | £35.00 | £40.00
Family Ticket (1 adult and 1-2 children) £15.00 (Not available online; collect at Box Office only)
Family Ticket (2 adults and 1-4 children) £20.00 (Not available online; collect at Box Office only)
Students (with valid student ID) £5.00
Over 65s | Disabled people plus one companion 10% off
Wheelchair user plus one companion - please contact Box Office on 02920 878444. £15.00 each ticket
Groups 10+ (Please contact Box Office on 02920 878444) 15% off

Plus an optional £1 postage fee for tickets to be posted.

Book now
18.00 Bars open
19.30 START
19.55 Interval
21.30 FINISH                                                                        

PLEASE NOTE: Running times are approximate and supplied for guidance only.  They may be subject to change. 

 Tapas available in L3 Lounge.