We use cookies

This website uses cookies in order to function. By continuing to use the site, you accept that we will place cookies on your computer. Please see our cookie policy for more information.

Don't show me this message again.
 
 

Great Christmas Gift Ideas...

Great Christmas Gift Ideas...

Great Christmas Gift Ideas...

It’s the most wonderful of time of the year and we’ve got some great Christmas gift ideas, as well as a fabulously festive programme throughout December at St David’s Hall!

Christmas Ballets: Cinderella, The Nutcracker & Swan Lake
Tuesday 19 – Sunday 31 December 2017 – 2pm, 5.30pm & 7pm

Before the big day there’s loads to keep you entertained whilst it’s cold outside. Only Men Aloud (Fri 1 Dec) and The Bootleg Beatles (Tues 5 Dec) return as do Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra (Fri 8 Dec) with A Night at the Movies, which celebrates the iconic composer John Williams. Expect memorable musicfrom E.T, Jurassic Park and an entire second half dedicated to Star WarsOther highlights in December include a heart-warming festive show from Kate Rusby (Tues 12 Dec)West End and Broadway classics from John Owen-Jones (Thurs 14 Dec) and The Darkness (Weds 13 Dec), who will hopefully play Christmas Time (Don’t Let the Bells End)

Bert & Cherry’s Christmas Plum Pudding
Saturday 16 – Tuesday 19 December 2017 – 10.30am & 12.30pm
(no show on Sunday 17 December 2017)

Meanwhile, tiny tots will adore Bert & Cherry’s Christmas Plum Pudding (Sat 16 - Tues 19 Dec), plus there’s the usual feast of choralconcerts offering all of your favourite Christmas carols including The Sixteen (Sun 17 Dec) with Glory to the Christ Child led by their masterful Conductor, Harry Christophers CBE. And what better way is there to get in the festivespirit than with our Russian ballet series? Cinderella, The Nutcracker and Swan Lake (Tues 19 – Sun 31 Dec) provide the perfect pre-Christmas family outing or present to treat your loved ones.

The Waterboys: Out of All This Blue
Tuesday 1 May 2018, 7.30pm

Talking of gifts, if Dad likes his guitar music he’s spoilt for choice with The Classic Rock Show (Fri 26 Jan), Paul Carrack (Fri 2 Feb), The Waterboys (Tues 1 May), Level 42 (Sat 20 Oct) and Deacon Blue (Thurs 22 Nov). Plus, the Starman’s spirit lives on in Bowie Experience (Sat 6 Oct).

Faith: The George Michael Legacy
Thursday 1 February 2018, 7.30pm

The terrific tributes don’t stop there as Faith: The George Michael Legacy (Thurs 1 Feb), Totally Tina (Fri 2 March), The Whitney Houston Show (Weds 18 April), Rumours of Fleetwood Mac (Mon 23 April) and Killer Queen (Fri 25 May) would all make a nice present for Mum. If opera is more her thing she’s in for a real treat with Verdi’s La Traviata (Mon 22 Jan) and Puccini’s Madama Butterfly (Sun 18 March). There’s also sensational solo acts in blues-rock star Beth Hart (Sat 21 April), former M People singer Heather Small (Thurs 17 May) and Joan Armatrading (Weds 17 Oct). Yet, if she would preferto just let her hair down and have a good old sing-song, why not try the Sister Act Live Choir (Sat 17 Feb)?

Puccini: Madama Butterfly
Sunday 18 March 2018, 7.30pm

There’s plenty to keep the kids entertained too. Avid adventurists of all ages will be truly enthralled by the Banff Mountain Film Festival (Thurs 15 Feb & Tues 10 April) and Simon Reeve (Thurs 20 Sept). Teenagers can revel in the weird and wonderful Vampires Rock (Sat 27 Jan) and The Circus of Horrors (Tues 20 March), whilst there’s limited tickets left for YouTube phenomenon Markiplier (Mon 19 Feb).

The Overtones & Jay James
Friday 9 February 2018, 8pm

Furthermore, there’s one of the biggest names on the Irish music scene in Nathan Carter (Sat 3 Feb) and the nation’s favourite vocal harmony group The Overtones (Fri 9 Feb). That’s not forgetting the little ones, who are in for half-term family fun with Milkshake! Live (Fri 23 Feb), and Nan and Granddad who may enjoy Classic Elvis (Sat 13 Jan), Joe Longthorne (Thurs 29 March), the Glenn Miller Orchestra (Sun 20 May) and Crazy for Gershwin (Sun 22 April).

Anton & Erin: Broadway to Hollywood
Sunday 28 January 2018, 3pm

David Baddiel: My Family – Not the Sitcom
Friday 27 April 2018, 7.30pm 

Strictly Come Dancing fans have never had it so good with Anton & Erin (Sun 28 Jan), James & Ola (Sun 25 March), Remembering Fred featuring Aljaž & Janette (Thurs 19 April), Pasha Kovalev & Anya Garnis (Sat 2 June) and Kevin & Karen (Sun 8 July) all strutting their stuff. Plus, if you’re up fora laugh there’s Richard Herring (Sat 24 Feb), Russell Brand (Tues 27 Feb), Katherine Ryan (Sat 3 March), Ed Byrne (Fri 9 March), Jonathan Pie (Sat 31 March), David Baddiel (Fri 27 April), Jason Manford (Fri 11 May), Dave Gorman (Sun 16 Sept) and Ross Noble (Weds 3 Oct)!

Whatever you choose, St David’s Hall has got Christmas wrapped up for the whole family!

To book your seats, please visit www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk
or call the Box Office on 029 2087 8444

 

 

Join our mailing list